December 14th, 2023 at 9:00 AM

Minutes | Regular Meeting




December 14, 2023


            Phillip Ramirez                         City of Brawley

            Jeorge Galvan                           City of Calipatria

            Guillermo Sillas                        City of Calexico

            Abraham Campos                     City of El Centro

            Jesus Villegas                           City of Holtville

            Adriana Anguis                         City of Imperial

            Veronica Atondo                       County of Imperial

            Manuel Ortiz                            IID



            David Aguirre                           ICTC   

            Katie Luna                               ICTC

            Angela Delgadillo                     ICTC

            Rom Medina                             City of Brawley

            Juan Manuel Cabrera                 City of Brawley

            Edgar Self                                City of Calipatria

            Andrea Montano                       City of El Centro

            Liz Zarate                                 City of El Centro

            Felix De Leon                           City of El Centro

            Fernando L. Williams                City of Imperial

            Yvonne Cordero                        City of Imperial

            Adolfo Garcia                           County of Imperial

            Monica Soucier                         County of Imperial

            Francisco Olmedo                     County of Imperial

            Ismael Garcia                            County of Imperial

            Alejandro Lopez Rangel            Caltrans

            Denis Salin                               Caltrans

            Bryan Ott                                 Caltrans

            Nick Ventrilla                           Caltrans

            Michaela Howard                      Caltrans

            David Salgado                          SCAG

            Kyle McGowan                        Kimley-Horn



1.       The meeting was called to order at 9:05 a.m. A quorum was present, and introductions were made. There were no public comments made.


2.       A motion was made to adopt the minutes for November 16, 2023 (Montano/Atondo) Motion Carried.


3.       Local Roadway Safety Plan Imperial County Presentation

(Presented by Kyle McGowan, Kimley-Horn on behalf of Imperial County)

·         Local Road Safety Plan (LRSP) is a statewide data‐driven traffic safety plan that coordinates the efforts of a wide range of organizations to reduce traffic accident fatalities and serious injuries on all public roads.

·         For more information please contact him at

4.       ICTC Updates / Announcements                                                                                                   (Presented by ICTC Staff)

a.       Transit Planning Updates

·         Imperial Valley Transit (IVT) FREE FARES PROGRAM: ICTC received a second grant to keep the Free Fares Program. It is expected to cover until the June/May timeframe.

·         Calexico Intermodal Transportation Center (ITC): In the final stages of this project. It is expected to break ground in the June/July timeframe.

·         2022 Long Range Transportation Plan: The public comment period has finished, and it is expected to have the Final draft completed and taken to the board in the January timeframe.

b.    Transportation Planning Updates 

                                    CMAQ/STBG & CRP Call for Projects:

·         The application process is not final, but a draft version is attached for your reference.

·         Please also review the scoring criteria for this new call. Attached you can also find the scoring criteria from the 2022 Call for Projects for your reference. 

·         Local Agencies are recommended to come prepared with a list of their potential projects for the next meeting for discussion. 

·         There were also discussions about choosing one Regional Project for this call for projects, so consider this when making your decision.

·         For any questions, please contact David Aguirre at 


5.       Caltrans Updates / Announcements:

(Presented by: Alejandro Lopez)

-          2025 Active Transportation Program (Cycle 7):

-           California Transportation Commission (CTC) Allocation and Approval Requests:  Friday, January 19, 2024 – deadline for the next CTC meeting

(March 21-22, 2024)

-          Unique Entity Identifier (UEI): Calipatria, Westmorland, and Imperial County have not confirmed their UEI.


6.       SCAG Updates / Announcements:

(Presented by: David Salgado)

-          SCAG DRAFT Connect SoCal 2024: The plan was developed through a four-year planning process involving rigorous technical analysis, extensive stakeholder engagement, and robust policy discussions with local elected leaders. Information about the draft plan can be found at and a copy of the plan is available for review at the SCAG Imperial Regional Office.

-          SCAG 2024 SAVE THE DATE! 2024 REGIONAL CONFERENCE & GENERAL ASSEMBLY: SCAG will host the 59th annual Regional Conference & General Assembly on May 2-3, 2024, at the JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa in Palm Desert.

-          SCAG 2024 General Assembly Delegate and Alternate Selection: SCAG sends an email to all cities asking for respective councils to take action to appoint a specific General Assembly Delegate and an Alternate. Only the selected Delegate and Alternate will be allowed to vote at the conference. All elected officials are invited to attend the SCAG General Assembly and Annual Conference. Elected Officials and City Managers are comped on registrations.


7.       Cities and County Planning / Public Works Updates:

·         Each jurisdiction gave its update.


8.       General Discussion / New Business

No new business was discussed.


Next TAC meeting will be on January 25, 2023 at 10:00 a.m., via Zoom for the public and in person at the ICTC offices.


Meeting adjourned at 10:20 a.m.